So, turns out I should look more carefully at travel information before planning a trip! I was under the impression that I was to arrive in London at 9pm on March 11th, turns out, I arrived about 9am March 12-that was one LONG trip (not to mention that I didn't need to book the hostel that I did for the night of March 11th in London lol)! THe ferry was very fancy, however it was rocking back and forth quite a bit last night, making my head and stomache feel icky to say the least!I thought that food might help my head and although the fish and chips (and mushy peas) were delicious and the staff quite friendly, I think the food actually made me feel more sick! I was glad to be off the ferry at about 1am this morning and back onto the bus. The elderly man sitting next to me on the bus was a bit lonely I guess because he kept talking to me for the rest of the trip-so with the exception of one hour sleeping on the ferry and another hour once the old man got off at his stop, I'm running on not a lot of sleep at the moment! Unfortunately I couldn't get ahold of Maggie when I got into London this morning so breakfast/lunch didn't happen with her, and I felt like I should probably get started on the rest of my trip as it always seems to take longer than I expect! haha The London underground system is massive-but not too bad once you get the hang of it (and also get used to the equally massive crowds of people) and I'm now on a train (yes an actual train) heading to Hereford to make my way out to the farm. I should arrive in Hereford at a little past 1pm here, and then I will be taking a taxi from there to the farm-which is apparently a 10 min drive, we'll see...
So far I'm liking London, or what I've seen so far. It's a little bit more like Van city in the way that people are up and about earlier than in Dublin and ready to start their day-it's a bit more like what I'm used to. :) In Dublin, it was funny, nothing was open until about 9 or 10am- noon on Sundays if they were open (even breakfast places lol) and if you saw anyone in the street before that time, chances are that they were still out from the night before! It's kind of funny because the stereotype of the Irish is that they drink frequently-I mean, I know the at home if you're Irish, you drink but the stereotype is actually pretty spot on from what I saw haha.
Even though I'm VERY tired and pretty physically exhausted right now, I'm in a really good mood. :) The sun is out here in London and I got a chance to have a quick late night call with mom, dad when I got into Victoria station (well it was about 8:45am for me, midnight for them oops).
So happy you are having a better time and enjoying it all. AND lucky you that Brad gets to come travel with you! Im jealous...
ReplyDelete